Only if… (Indie, F2P)


Stumbling around Steam to see if there is anything to catch my eye…and maybe make a lets play video of, I found this game named ‘Only If…’.

I downloaded it from Steam to give it a go, and I’m not quite sure why I did so. I usually do not like horror-games or ‘jump-scare’ games or even heavy puzzle games at all, but in a moment of ‘I’m a man I can handle this’ type of moment, I started it up.

After a start scene where you are standing outside a house with a loud party going on inside, and debating on you should go inside or not… you wake up here..

There is no fancy controls, map window or slots for equipment. Just an inventory (empty) and you can move with the usual wasd keys. And ofcourse..you have no clue whats going on. After a rather ‘what the heck is this’ type of event, you find yourself in a living-room with a rather unpleasant fellow talking too you through a radio on the couch… and your gonna hate that radio later on… trust me..

I could here start to talk about the puzzles and what to do to do what…but I’m gonna leave that for you to figure out. Lets just say that not everything is what they look like at first sight… 🙂

The developers themselves explain the game like this:
Only If is a surreal first person adventure-puzzle game. You play as Anthony Clyde, who, after a heavy night of partying, wakes up to find himself in an unfamiliar bed with no memory of the previous night’s events. Unfortunately, escaping these unfamiliar, opulent surroundings will prove to be no easy task, as an unseen, menacing, radio-bound antagonist will stop at nothing to block Anthony’s path at every turn.

The game’s mechanics are designed to be experimental and unpredictable, to defy the logic of “What you see is what you get”. Is the environment changing around you, or is it your imagination? Will jumping to your death kill you, or will it save you? Could the wrong answer actually turn out to be the right answer?

In Only If, you will fail a lot, you will die a lot, and you will undoubtedly be confused. Or will you?

I’m not finished with this game, due to that I am playing it a bit at a time (it can be a bit ‘frustrating’ at times..) but I think I really do like this game, so I think you should give it a go yourself. It got a bit of ‘bad atmosphere’, vibes from the AI in Portal and some rather nifty puzzled you need to solve in order to get away alive…. or so the radio-dude says..

I am also not including any videos in this post, due to the game is way better to play if you do not know anything about it before you start. (There are wiki’s out there if you are really really stuck…)

Happy gaming, and do not smash the radio to hard… you might need it later on….


Leave a Reply

